Podcast recorded

Wow.  I don’t think I have ever fully appreciated the effort that goes into recording a podcast.  Not even just the subject material, which seemed to take forever to come together, but the actual recording and production as well.  It took me several hours define the material I wanted to cover. My material was about trends in the industries of education and the private sector.  I touched on Google Docs, mobile, and gamifcation for my topics.

It took another several hours to record 8 minutes worth of material (really all that recording time for 8 minutes!?).  I used audcity to do the recording with a gaming headset.  I was initially pleased with the quality of the audio, but there are some pretty significant areas where you could hear me breathing, which I tried to clean up in post production.  I then spent several more hours in post production using a trial copy of Abobe Audition to ensure noise was reduced, any gaps were effectively removed, and music added.  I also used a free text to speech online program to do the “in the news” bumper.

I pulled three music pieces from http://incompetech.com/music/ which has royalty free music the pieces were:
“EDM Detection Mode” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
“Cut and Dry” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
“Electrodoodle” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

I decided to put it out on google drive.

Podcast recorded

One thought on “Podcast recorded

  1. I was really surprised how long it took me to record my podcast, too! Mine ended up just shy of 7 minutes, but also took many hours to script, record, and edit. I can’t imagine doing this process every week for a regular podcast!

    Like

Leave a comment