WebQuests

Not being a teacher I had no idea what a WebQuest was.  My wife is a teacher and she gave me quick description, last night, of a “guided web lesson”. I looked at her, rolled my eyes said thanks and continued reading the material.  So I think I get the gist… it’s a guided web lesson 🙂  All joking aside, I came away with a better understanding of a focused path for students where you give them a scenario, a number of links you’ve done research on, and you let them go on their merry way to do their research.

Once they’ve gone through all the links and done their research you set them down a path of delivering something.  All of this makes perfect sense in the scope of the educational system how do I make this relevant to me in the business world?  Well it is really no different than what I’ve done setting up for training and on boarding of new technology.  Sure the scenario exercise at that point isn’t an exercise it is real scenarios.  What do I mean by that?  Try and follow me into the weeds…

Let’s say from an enterprise perspective we have a contract for a set of software that costs us $700,000 a year in software and support (S&S) and many within the organization are displeased with this solution, except for the people that administrate it.  Well now, we have to get them on board to our line of thinking, so we do our own research and collate links and documentation.  We now set them lose with all the documentation we’ve already reviewed and give them the task of telling us why they think our new software solution we’ve proposed is good or bad.  Perhaps as a part of the task we have them install and use the new solution with the new acquired knowledge they’ve gained from us guiding them through websites and documentation.

So I’ve submitted my proposal from an educational perspective with a focus on some business goals and becoming a better organized person using some online software and some frameworks that is typically used in development and / or production.  Looking forward to the feedback from the professor to ensure I’m headed down the right path.

WebQuests

2 thoughts on “WebQuests

  1. Chris,
    I have been teaching for 7 years and have never heard of a WebQuest. I have done assignments which could probably be considered one, but never knew there was a term for them. I think your proposal sounds great and makes perfect sense!
    Amanda

    Like

  2. This is a really interesting take on the WebQuest assignment. Your proposal sounds very well suited for the business setting. I’m interested to see how it turns out!

    -Katie

    Like

Leave a comment