Mobile Frameworks / App builders

As I stated in my last post since I won’t be able to do a responsive web design, I’ll have to use one of the free app builders out there.  I simply do not have the hardware required or knowledge necessary to code my own native application (native mobile iOS apps require a Mac computer and I think I could learn the programming language given the time, summer classes don’t allow for time =)).

The first app builder I looked at was Appy Pie.  There were a number of pre-built pages available, which is pretty nice for someone that has never built a mobile app before.  It doesn’t seem like you can customize too much (I have a feeling this is going to be a common theme). I think I have enough here that I might be able to salvage some of the usability necessary for the application that I proposed.

Mobincube was the next builder I looked at. This one seemed to offer a little more customization than Appy Pie which made me happy.  There seems to be a lot that I can use here for my proposed application this quickly goes to the top of the list.

I was unable to get a login for Appsbar…that was a bust.  So far it seems like Mobincube it will be.  I’ll post more as I do some more evaluations

My wife, who is a teacher is currently taking a class all about Google in the classroom, how timely considering our class wiki project. Speaking of the project, I did quite a bit of adds / updates prior to the class assigning themselves sections in our class forums; I completely missed the thread until I had touched almost every page, oh well.  It does appear that our wiki is shaping up nicely though.  This is quite the crowd sourcing effort.

Mobile Frameworks / App builders

One thought on “Mobile Frameworks / App builders

  1. I’ll have to check out Mobincube, thanks for the recommendation. So far I’ve been using AppyPie but can’t come close to what I want to do with it (although I too have the feeling that will be the case with any of the free mobile app builders out there).

    As far as the wiki, I don’t think we’re limited to only working in our pages, those are just the pages we’re most responsible for. I added some uses and pros and cons across several pages today. I think it’s good to have extra ideas, then we can just edit and clean up our own pages before turning it all in.
    -Katie

    Like

Leave a comment