Summer.

I always forget how quickly these summer courses go.  It is going to be a double blog post night.  My mobile development idea of doing a responsive web application had gotten a negative response, oh well.

For those that don’t know what responsive web design is, it is ensuring that a website can be easily read and navigated through by any device.  The code within the website will auto size the content depending on the device that is accessing it.  It really opens up the playing field when it comes to design as mobile web languages are providing a native mobile app look and feel these days.  Through the use of javascript you can access GPS functionality, as well as things like camera, and pictures.  By using restful application programming interfaces (APIs) you can really craft a great mobile experience.

I’ll need to do some further research on how I’m going to implement my mobile design now that my responsive web design won’t work.  Some of the frameworks I’ve seen for designing a native app free, leave a bad taste in my mouth as you are really limited to the functionality of things that you can do with them.

The WebQuests are due tomorrow and all I have are a bunch of notes, time to get cracking.

Summer.

One thought on “Summer.

  1. When I told my husband (who works ib IT) that I had to design a mobile app, the first thing he said was “Why would you do that when you could do a website that works across all devices?”. Although I’m putting mine out there as an app, if I actually did it for real, I’d do the responsive web design instead.
    -Katie

    Like

Leave a comment