Podcasting

My mobile design was turned in on Wednesday night.  I was able to find some mobile design stencils for a number of applications put together by Yahoo! and you can get them here.  I’m very familiar with Visio as a part of my day job, so I snagged the Visio stencils and put the screens together.  In order to add notes and make it presentable I put the screens in a 13.33 by 7.5 PowerPoint deck.  I mention the sizes because with the advent of newer display technology the default page size is really inadequate; you can fit so much more on the larger pages and still be able to print them out if needed.  I added notes via numbered circles and added the circles to my designed screens.  I really don’t know how I’m going to implement the design yet, a problem for another day, I wanted to put my thoughts out there about podcasting.

I’m an avid podcast listener.  I listen to a number of podcasts, from dailies to weeklies and the one thing that they all have in common is they have a genuine interest and are passionate about the topics they speak of. That is the key, in my opinion, to being successful with your podcasts, have fun and be passionate about your subject.  For our class assignment I will have to keep that in mind while still keeping it in the context of education (tough for someone that isn’t a traditional educator); hopefully it comes together.

Podcasts that I consistently listen to:

  • The Morning Steam‘ hosted by Scott Johnson and Brian Ibbott – Scott and Brian have been doing this daily show for years (since 2011).  Scott is a cartoonist, designer, illustrator, and podcaster; he also has three kids of varying ages, not sure where he finds the time.  The show discusses entertainment, politics, general news, and each day has special segments with guests.  You can really tell that these guys love what they do.
  • The Boop Show‘ hosted by Scott Johnson (yeah it’s going to be a theme) – Is a two times a week video game podcast that is focused on video game news.  I’ve been an avid gamer since I was kid; Scott has been playing video games for decades and I really enjoy his take on the video game industry.
Podcasting

Leave a comment